Views on pop culture through my eyes

All Lives Matter

This blog was written a few months ago. In light of recent events, the topic discussed is very much still relevant.

As regular readers of this blog know, I am not much of a political person. I have my hot-button issues like marriage equality… but I would rather talk about Madonna than who is leading in the latest polls for the next President.AllLivesMatter

But for me, I guess I have reached my breaking point with the latest round of mass shootings. They are all starting to get too close to home for me. Killed while praying in church, watching a funny movie or doing your job (at the Marine base and recruitment center)? That could have been me — or at least someone I know.

I am a big entertainment fan, and as such I go to a lot of movies and concerts. I find myself being on the lookout at those places for the crazy person — the person with the backpack with a bomb in it, or the concealed weapon under their bulky jackets. Is this really the world we are living in?

People in other countries are getting the impression that America is overrun with crazy gun nuts running down the street with uzis. They don’t know the beautiful and diverse America that I do.

The shootings at Columbine high school, or Sandyhook, or the Colorado movie theater or the murder of Trayvon Martin… and on and on. And NOTHING has been done about gun control in this country? NOTHING? Seriously!?

What good comes from a gun? I just don’t get it. I don’t want one in my house. I know that other people do… but how do we make sure that mentally unstable individuals don’t get them? That includes those that kill themselves from them too. I lost one work friend from a self-inflicted gun shot wound… a married father of 2. Plus I know of 2 people killed in drive-by shootings too.

You are statistically more likely to kill a family member rather than kill a criminal. Guns make small minded individuals feel important.

In no way, am I trying to take away from Black Lives Matter. My lover is African American, and I worry that he will be the victim of some crazy racist in my community. I can hide the fact that I am gay, he can’t hide the fact that he is black. What happened to love your neighbor as yourself?

For me, I would like to see everyone who has a gun have to register them with authorities or face a huge fine. Long waiting periods for them… like 3-6 months, plus have people take some sort of mental health questionnaire or personal assessment too. Criminals would probably still get their hands on them somehow… I would be in favor of outlawing them entirely in my book. But in this gun crazy country that will never happen.

Part 2 to this whole situation is mental illness. It probably affects more people than we realize. There has to be a way for these people to get some sort of help. And we need to remove the stigma of someone admitting they need help or struggle with depression.

Bottom line is that all lives matter… gay, straight, black, white, male, female, transgendered, Hispanic, Asian, etc. We are all sharing this planet and need to look out after each other and get along. I urge you to write and call your government officials and tell them we need to do something about gun control now… before there is another mass shooting. And we wonder why nothing has been done yet.

KiltManinSoCal is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and Real Men Wear Kilts lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "All Lives Matter" (2)

  1. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    This is a very important issue. Here in Brazil, we know that a lot of guns, drug dealers, thieves can easily get them because the country is large and the borders are difficult to be watched all the time. Many drug dealers get guns, and they are very powerful guns. Some are even better then the ones from the Army!. I remember years ago, a guy in a cinema (São Paulo city). He was watching a movie, an action movie…suddenly he stood up and started shooting in the audience. Years ago, citizens here were called to vote about a disarming project…if we should or not buy guns easily or if we had to have some difficulties about it: documents, papers, medical statements that we can have or not a gun. I had a cousin. He was bipolar and what happened to him years ago? He committed suicide….by the way he was a police officer….maybe if without a gun, he could be alive nowadays….

    • Thanks for you comment. Yes, this is a serious issue, and it about time that the politicians in this country finally do something about it. Another part of the issue is mental health. If people need help, they should be able to ask for it and get it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

