Views on pop culture through my eyes

Birthday Time

I have always celebrated my birthday. This year I am turning 51 on May 5th. Last year I had a big party in the park with lots of friends and family. It was an amazing day. We played games, broke open a piñata, and had some yummy food. I will never forget that day, and all the love that was shown to me that day.Birthday Fun

This year is going to be a little bit quieter. My partner and I are going to a few shows: 1 play and 1 concert; and maybe a few more small things on the weekend, like the aquarium.

I continue to be so grateful and thankful to be alive. Every day is a gift. Sure, I get sad and depressed, what person doesn’t. But at the end of the day, I know that I have an endless gratitude list. And to think I wanted to end it all as a teen! Life did get better, and continues to be a wonderful adventure.

First off, I am so thankful for all the amazing people in my life: my life partner, my parents, siblings, extended family, friends, acquaintances, penpals, neighbors, coworkers. I walk to work and enjoy seeing the flowers along the way, and the cute dogs the neighbors walk.

I am happy with how I am aging and how I march to the beat of my own drum. Every day I come home, kiss my man, and get in my kilt. I get to play with my bird, and cook some amazing dishes that taste great and are good for you.

If I get scared or cold, I can cuddle up with my partner in bed. And then I can touch my stuffed animals (which remind me of fun times as a kid) near my bed, and fall back to sleep knowing I am blessed.

So Happy Birthday to Dan… AKA Kilt Man in So Cal. I know I will be having my cake, blowing out my candles and savoring every minute of it.

KiltManinSoCal is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and Real Men Wear Kilts lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Birthday Time" (4)

  1. guy.hubbard@att.net said:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Dan!!! Many Happy Returns!!!

    Thanks for sharing your wonderful and joyful feelings

  2. Happy Birthday! Thanks for the uplifting post!

  3. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    Hi Man! So, I am very happy to see that you are so grateful about life. I am trying to too. Sometimes “life isn’t fair”….as the Madonna song Promise To Try says….But as you, I had and have my difficult times in my life. And I still have. But I try to live each day….When I read your articles, I feel myself very happy. Because I can see how you had to fight to conquer your space in society. But in a certain way, you did it. And I can see very good moments being expressed here. That is very good that you are celebration your b-day. I still need to mail you “something to remember”, a gift I bought you….It is a book…surprise….

  4. Thanks for all the birthday love. I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

