Views on pop culture through my eyes

Part 1 dealt with movie releases, part 2 will deal with TV shows, home videos and music releases. What have I been watching and listening to this winter:

Home Video

Enough Said
A cute romantic comedy that was the final movie from James Gandolfini. He stars with Julia Louis-Dreyfus. They played divorced singles looking for love in the modern world. Turns out that he (Gandolfini) is the ex-husband of one of Julia’s clients. Grade: B+

The Maze Runner
The latest movie adapted from a YA novel series. This one is about bunch of young kids trapped in a remote location, that is surrounded by a giant maze. The maze has monsters and traps in it and no one has been able to escape. For me, it was just OK, a bit of a creature feature. Grade: C+

Pride
A true story from Britain about a group of gays and lesbians who help the striking coal miners in England during the early 80’s. Very heartwarming seeing the walls break down with these 2 different groups. Plus some fun 80’s songs on the soundtrack. Grade: A-

The Past
The latest movie from director Asghar Farhadi, this emotional drama tells the story of 2 exes meeting up to dissolve their marriage, so the wife can marry a new man. The ex husband stays with his former wife and new lover, and secrets from the past come out that put their relationships in a new perspective. Subtitled. Grade: A-

How to Train Your Dragon 2
The favorite for this year’s best animated film Oscar (it lost), tells the tale of Hiccup and his dragon as they find new lands and a villain who wants to turn all dragons into soldiers in his dragon army. Of course, there are some great flying sequences and the requisite sad and tragic part too. I am sure it played better on the big screen than on home video. Grade: B-

The Sapphires
Based on a true story of 4 aboriginal girls who form a singing group that tours Vietnam to entertain the soldiers. Chris O’Dowd stars as their manager and love interest for the older sister. A nice “feel-good” movie that has some great soul songs from the 1960’s. It also sheds some light on the racism in Australia at the time. Grade: B+

Call Me Kuchu
A documentary about LGBT life in Uganda. Not an easy movie to sit through. You see how much gay people are going through there, while in the US we are getting more and more rights and visibility all the time. It is very sad and heartbreaking to see and listen to their stories. Grade: A-

CDs

Madonna “Rebel Heart”
Coming soon… on another blog.

Lady GaGa and Tony Bennett “Cheek to Cheek”
Tony and GaGa seem like they are both having a good time. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. Yes, you have heard a lot of these songs before (covered by other artists), but there are a few I was not so familiar with. The songs were expertly arranged with the big band. Grade: B+

Kenny Chesney “The Big Revival”
Kenny’s back with more of his brand of country rock. The first single “American Kids” is his best song in years for me. Not much new stylistically, but still dependable. Grade: B+

Justin Timberlake “The 20/20 Experience — 2 of 2”
A definite improvement over the horrible Part 1, Justin brings us a better set of songs this time with guest including Drake and Jay Z. Highlights include the Jackson’s inspired ‘Take Back the Night” and “Not a Bad Thing” — his best song in years, and one that reminds me of his greatness. Still think the songs go on too long. Grade: B

Taylor Swift — “1989”
Her first official pop album, and it is full of hits. I always thought she was more pop than country anyway. I for one, hope she doesn’t go back. Madonna was write in singing her praises as a songwriter. She definitely writes some catchy songs. I find myself listening to this one a lot. Grade: A-

Jason Aldean — “My Kinda Party”
I’m a little late to the party with this guy. But I am interested in seeing his co-headlining tour with Kenny Chesney, so I figured I would give him a listen. Includes his duet with Kelly Clarkson on “Don’t You Wanna Stay” as well as other hits like “Dirt Road Anthem” and the title track too. His music fits with the current bro-country vibe. Grade: B

Sam Smith — “In the Lonely Hour”
He recently won 4 Grammys for this album. As an openly gay soul singer, he is sure making his mark in the world of pop music. He definitely lives up to his hype as the male Adele. Grade: A-

Nick Jonas — “Nick Jonas”
As a long-time fan of the Jonas Brothers, I have loved Nick’s voice for years. I would tell people how great he was. This is his 2nd solo effort if you count his album with the Administration. That one was very much in the vain of a John Mayer. This one he is going for a Justin Timberlake/Robin Thicke vibe. Parts of it work, like the hit first single “Jealous”. Other parts not so much for me… including the cussing. I get that he is trying to break free of the Disney label, but this album is a bit of a transition for him — as he is still finding his sound as an adult. Grade: C+

Kelly Clarkson — “Piece by Piece”
Her first pop album in years, includes the lead single “Heartbeat Song”. I am liking the album after a few listens… she has one of the best voices in the current pop scene. Stand out tracks include “Invincible” cowritten by Sia, “Run Run Run” with John Legend and “Nostalgic” (with it’s 80’s overtones). Grade: B

TV

American Idol
Season 14 is off and running. New to this season was the unveiling of the Top 24 in the first episode with all of them singing in the shadows. There are always so many talented people who try out for this show. Glad that they have cut back on the crazies in the audition episodes. Grade: B

Empire
From Lee Daniels, comes a look at the world of hip-hop music centered on one powerful family. Starring Academy Award nominees Taraji P. Henson and Terence Howard as ex spouses who are fighting for control of the company. They have three sons, and one will be picked as successor to run the company. Enough drama to fill a few shows, plus songs from Timbaland too. What I don’t like about the show is what I thought… the rap songs. And I am a bit concerned about how this show makes blacks look, as far as sterotypes. But the story of the gay son, is a story we haven’t seen before and is very refreshing. Grade: B+

My Husband’s Not Gay
A special that was a potential pilot for a series on the TLC channel. It concerns a bunch of Mormon couples in which the husbands all experience “SSA” or same-sex attraction. They talk about it like it is ADD, and something that can be handled by prayer and communication. I don’t think the guys are gay as much as bisexual. And I don’t get what’s in it for the women. I would rather live my life honestly and openly about myself. It makes organized religion look bad. Grade: C

Marvel’s Agent Carter
I really enjoyed Marvel’s Agent Carter. If you loved Hayley Atwell in “Captain America: The First Avenger” — this limited series expands on her story after WWII. It’s nice to see a sexy crime fighter kicking some butt in high heels. I like a show that doesn’t take itself too seriously. The pilot was great, but subsequent episodes have just been OK. Grade: B-

The Real World: Skeletons
This latest season of the reality pioneer, adds a twist like the last season did. This time the 7 strangers are in Chicago, and they all have secrets from the past that are going to come and haunt them literally. So every few days, a new “skeleton” or 2 comes to the house and moves in for a few days to wreck havoc on the particular roommate and their fellow roommates. So far, I am not liking it as much as last season when all of their exes moved in at the same time. Grade: C+

So what have you been watching and listening to this winter? I would love to hear from you.

KiltManinSoCal is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and Real Men Wear Kilts lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Winter Entertainment Roundup Part 2" (2)

  1. guy.hubbard@att.net said:

    Hi Dan, I don’t support Kelly Clarkson, despite her positive gay activities. She supported Romney and I don’t support people who support Republicans. I cancelled all the Clarkson cds I had on my Amazon wish list. I liked Enough Said also and I loved Pride. I’ve seen it several times. Lady Gaga was spectacular on the Oscar’s. She could have a whole other career. I love the hot single from Nick Jonas. I never paid any attention to the Jonas Bros but he, as a solo act, is another story. I’ve always liked Kenny Chesney. I hope he does another Fathom Events special. Train Your Dragon, Parts 1 & 2 were both terrific. I like Chris O’Dowd in anything he does. I think he’s cute and sexy, wish I’d been able to see him on Broadway recently. I’ll have to look for “The Past.” It sounds good. I watch “Looking” weekly on HBO. Also “Shameless”, “Girls”, Black Sails” (In fact, I like all the Starz original Black programming), “House Of Lies”, “Episodes”, “Justified”, “The Good Wife”, “How To Get Away With Murder”, and many more I can’t recall at the moment.

    • If I got rid of all the Republican singers I like, I am sure there would be a lot of them! And Kelly Clarkson supported Rand Paul from what I know. Heck, I have Republican relatives I have to deal with! It will be interesting to see what direction Lady GaGa goes in… she is getting into acting on the next “American Horror Sotry.” With Nick Jonas, the single is hot. But for me, I am not buying it as the real Nick, cause it seems a little bit of a marketing decision like his label said let’s follow the Justin Timberlake path, get sexy, and do R&B tinged pop. I am happy he is having success again. “Looking” just got cancelled, never saw it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

