Views on pop culture through my eyes

Mid Life Check In

OK, so I turned 50 this past May. Has my life changed since I have become a senior citizen? Not really. Was something big supposed to be happen? Was I supposed to have it all figured out about the meaning of life? Was my body and mind supposed to start failing me?DSCF1652

Fifty seemed old when you were kids. Now you find yourself at this age… and you think to yourself, heck I am still young! I still love to walk, dance, hike, swim, etc. I love peanut butter and jelly sandwiches still, and I still love Madonna. Was I supposed to start eating prunes and loving “Matlock”?

And what’s with all the AARP mailings? So far, they are wasting their money on me. I looked at the benefits, and there was nothing that I would use! So I will put off on joining at this time. I have yet to find a place where I can get a discount for being 50. Most discounts are for being 60 or 65 that I see.

I am thankful for my health. Other than some occasional arthritis, and diminished vision, I am doing well. I am glad that I am similar weight to when I was in college. Yes, I have more gray hair, and it is thinning a little now too, but that’s all OK. I am going to enjoy being a sexy silver daddy when I’m at that point… but I am not there yet.

Career is going pretty good. I have a job that I like… and I am respected there. Am I where I thought I would be? No, absolutely not. But I am not in a bad place either.

It’s exciting to be planning my wedding at 50. My partner and I have waited a long time for this moment. For most of our life together, we couldn’t get married because we were gay. We could have had a commitment ceremony, but honestly I never thought too much about it. Then with Prop. 8 in California, and ultimately it’s turnover, marriage was back on the table. Yeah, we don’t have $20,000 to put towards it, but we do have years of love, and when it happens it is going to be beautiful.

I am grateful and thankful to God for all that he has blessed me with. I am happy that I have loving friends and family around me. I am thankful that I have a supportive spouse that I can enjoy my journey with. I look forward to aging gracefully, and rewriting the rules on what a senior looks and acts like.

KiltManinSoCal is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and Real Men Wear Kilts lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Mid Life Check In" (1)

  1. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    Nice article Daniel. I also try to face aging….I am going to be 39 this year! I remember a very controversial Madonna interview with a Brazilian reporter called Marilia Gabriela…She asked Madonna how was the idea of tuning 40 (it was the Ray of Light era)….and she answered that it was just a number. That being 50 in the future would be good, because she was going to get half price tickets….LOL. So, I have to admit, sometimes I feel scary of tuning older, but sometimes I face it as a normal cycle of human nature. My grandmother passed away 3 months ago…she was 99. I hope to reach this age, or not…but always trying to find a way to smile daily.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

