Views on pop culture through my eyes

Home Entertainment Round-Up

I love movies. When I get wrapped up in the story, acting and direction, time flies by. And you feel good afterwards. Other times, you can be — when is this damn thing going to end! So what movies from the past spring and summer did I like or didn’t like? What should I rent or stream on Saturday night? Read on…

Locke (Tom Hardy). An interesting independent movie, that only has 1 guy on screen for the entire movie as he drives to be there for the birth of his child. Tom Hardy was fantastic, and the movie keeps you interested as the story unfolds. Final say: A-

Jersey Boys (Christopher Walken, John Lloyd Young). The movie version of the Tony award winning musical about Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons. Directed by Clint Eastwood, and featuring some great songs that are familiar to most. Sometimes it seems like the music is more of a backdrop than the star, as there is a lot of drama that went down on their way to fame and fortune. Final say: B-

22 Jump Street (Channing Tatum, Jonah Hill). The stars of the original “21 Jump Street” reboot are back for more. If you loved the first one, the second one was just as good for me. I especially loved Jillian Bell, she steals every scene she is in. Final say: B+22_Jump_Street_11

The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (Andrew Garfield, Emma Stone). The 2nd of the new Spider-man movies. Jamie Foxx plays the villain. I enjoyed it at the time, but I have to say it was a pretty forgettable movie. I couldn’t tell you the plot now… and it was just a few months ago that I saw it. Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone have a nice chemistry in it. Final say: B-

X-Men: Days of Future Past (Hugh Jackman, Michael Fassbender). Combining the casts of the original trilogy with the stars of the reboot was a great idea. The cast is a bit overstuffed with characters, so not everyone has a chance to shine. But overall it was good to have director Bryan Singer back. Final say: B+

Neighbors (Zac Efron, Seth Rogen). A raunchy comedy that pits a bunch of frat boys against the young married couple next door. I enjoyed it, but still a bit forgettable. Final say: B-

Maleficent (Angelina Jolie, Elle Fanning). A live action take on the Sleeping Beauty story. Angelina Jolie is perfectly cast as the title character. The story has a new take on a classic villain, and why she is as she is. Grade: A-

Edge of Tomorrow (Tom Cruise, Emily Blunt). It has been retitled: “Live Die Repeat: Edge of Tomorrow” for the home video release. It bombed in the theatres, but I actually liked this movie. It is sort of a sci-fi “Grounghog Day” with Cruise’s character having to relive the same day over and again. Action and laughs too. Grade: B+

 

Shows

Extant (Halle Berry, Goran Visnjic). It started out promising at least. Berry plays an astronaut who returned to Earth after a 13-month solo mission. Problem is she is pregnant. Plus she has a son who is a robot created by her husband. I found myself losing interest in this as it went along. In the end, I just didn’t care what happened. Final say: C

Rising Star (Josh Groban, Brad Paisley). The latest in the reality singing competition. I hate watched the entire series. This show with the “Raise the Wall” real-time voting didn’t bring anything new to the genre despite the talented people involved. I am sure it will be a 1-season show like ABC’s “Duets”. Final say: C-

So what have you been watching at the movies and on TV this past summer? I would love to hear your thoughts about what excited you and what didn’t.

KiltManinSoCal is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and Real Men Wear Kilts lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Home Entertainment Round-Up" (1)

  1. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    Ops!! I cant help with comments this time…I havent been around to have fun….not even movies that I used to go a lot. I recognized “Maleficent”, that here became “Malévola”…I have a friend….he asked me if I wanted to go with him to watch it…but I have to admit….the plot didnt catch my attention….But that is good that you are having some fun….

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

