Views on pop culture through my eyes

Now that same sex marriage is spreading across the country, I am reading more and more articles about how people that have strong religious objections to it are being marginalized. Like suddenly they are the victims now — worrying about being discriminated against. Boo hoo!Christmas 2010

Are these people serious? One of the great things about this country is freedom of speech, and the ability to speak your mind. I have no problem with people saying they don’t get or understand my life. I don’t get yours! I was brought up to believe that we are all equal. And that God was for everyone. He doesn’t discriminate.

You can hate the fact that I can marry my partner of 25 years, but that doesn’t give you the right to pass laws saying that I can’t. You can hold up protest signs outside churches that allow same sex marriages, and “All Fags Go to Hell” signs during gay pride. I have no problem with either. It’s your life, and you can do with it as you like.

What I don’t get is why continue to focus on a losing battle? What do you achieve by putting out so much negative energy about something that disturbs you? Don’t you have a life, or a family/community that you could spend some positive energy on?

Are there hungry and poor people in your community that you could help? Are there people who have lost their jobs or homes that you could lend a hand to? Is someone facing a terminal illness that can use some serious prayers? What about a married couple who is going through a rough patch and could use some counseling? These are all worthy causes for so-called religious people to get involved with.

From what I get — the people that are so damned upset, probably don’t even know a gay person, or would cut a gay person out of their lives if someone came out to them. They don’t want to know us, be our friends, or be our neighbors. Again, the feeling is mutual.

How exactly are you being harmed by same sex marriage now? Inquiring minds want to know. Maybe it’s the fact that you are now a social outcast for your beliefs. You used to be invited to all the best parties and such, but now that word has gotten out, you are not being invited anymore. Maybe you are jealous of the fact that the gay couple down the street appears more in love than you do with your spouse of 10 years. Stuff like this may be happening. Oh well! You don’t have to believe everything your church preaches. You have free will.

I pray for you, and hope that one day you will see what really matters in life. At the end of the day it’s two people in love getting married and that’s it. And couldn’t we all use more love in the world.

KiltManinSoCal is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and Real Men Wear Speedos lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Exactly How are You Harmed?" (1)

  1. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    Nice article…as I get older I feel myself more proud about being gay. It is not a problem and never was. Sometimes someone bothers me with some prejudice…Once, a woman that was told that I was gay….she came to me and said “You know, if you want to, you can change your life”….demostrating that being gay was a kind of freak person….but I kindly said that I was happy in that way and that my family supports me….I think we’ll face prejudice daily…but what we must do is to be stroger….same sex marriage does not happen in the churches here…but we see many people going to a court to get a kind of certification…that demonstrates that he or she got married…at least in the paper and that is very good.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

