Views on pop culture through my eyes

I love Speedos… the original racing swimsuit. I love the fact that they are small and tight. That you get a nice tan when you wear one out to the beach or the pool. That they emphasize a man’s goodies: his manhood and his ass.Speedos at beach

So why is the USA so Speedo-phobic? This is the feeling I get from a lot of people. I think there are a number of factors at work here. First, prominent displays of sexuality are judged differently from males to females. Ladies are encouraged to wear skimpy bikini swimwear, even when they shouldn’t. I have seen some girls wear bikinis, because they have a big chest. Yet, they have cottage cheese thighs too.

When you look at the list of actresses that have done nude scenes, the list is very long. The same can’t be said for actors willing to do nude scenes or full frontal nudity. Why is this? It seems that taking their tops off allows actresses to be taken seriously.

Another reason for the Speedo phobia, is the fact that a lot of men let themselves go. If you knew that you had to wear Speedos at the beach or pool, maybe you would try harder to stay in shape. And you don’t have to have washboard abs to pull one off either. You can have some gut, and still look good too.

Guys are insecure about the size of their manhood, is another reason I hear for men not wanting to wear Speedos. You don’t have to be well hung to wear them. I have seen many guys who have average or small penises still look very nice in them.

Woman don’t want to see a guy’s junk, is one of the most ridiculous reasons I have heard for not wanting a man to wear Speedos. Women I know love guys, and their penises. The women who are “scarred” by seeing an outline of a man’s cock and balls in Speedos are those ladies that are probably afraid of sex, and only do it for their men in the dark.

And of course, the old standard: I am not gay, why would I wear one? I guess gay guys are more in touch with their bodies than straight men. You should wear one cause your girl likes how your body looks in one. And you get to show the world that all the time you have spent in the gym has paid off.

Summer is fast approaching. I know I will be rocking my Speedos at age 50, because I damn well feel like it. I hope to see more guys do it too.

KiltManinSoCal is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and Real Men Wear Speedos lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Why Are People Afraid of Speedos?" (6)

  1. guy.hubbard@att.net said:

    Excellent and perceptive column!!

  2. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    Very good, Daniel….I prefer bermudas, than speedos…But here in Brazil, there is a mix of this opinion. Some enjoy speedos too. And I have to admit, my body is not that kind of fit body…but I dont mind if I go to a club, a beach wearing speedos. Speedos can be more sensual, shows the men’s body….I know that….and sometimes I see many cute guys…but considering myself, I prefer going to the club, to the beach, wearing bermudas….

  3. william Christie said:

    I think a man has to be in reasonably good shape to wear speedos, or it is a very gross experience. This is because as a man ages, the stomach on average will grow and sag outwards and downwards. In a speedo this is emphasized and makes for some very unappetizing viewing. I am 60 and try to stay in good shape. I weigh myself daily, stay on a diet and exercise. But I cannot completely remove the roundness of my tummy. I figure I’ve had a good run as an athletic trim guy, and have to deal with some of the reality of getting older. I wear burmudas. I wear them up to my pecs (just kidding). But assuming a man is in good shape, what is this USA terror of the cock? We must not see it or even reference it. Meanwhile, women wear the tiniest bikini tops they can manage. I guess mammary glands are OK, but cocks are just too shocking for Christian America.

    • Thanks for the comment. I get where you are coming from. All I know is I gotta be me… and Speedos are in for me at age 50. I don’t make a big deal about them, and others just leave me be.

  4. […] the fashion front, I gave my opinion on why people are afraid of Speedos; and why should wear kilts for the holidays. I am all about self expression and marching to the […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

