Views on pop culture through my eyes

I am having a milestone birthday this year. I will be turning 50 on May 5th. It is hard to believe. I have had a good life, and time has certainly flown by. Am I exactly where I want to be in my life? Not quite — but I am still in a good place.Dan at 50

I have so much to be thankful and grateful for. I see every day as a gift from God.

When I look back on my tough teenage years, I am certainly glad that I held on —even though those were some dark days. I have had so many amazing life experiences and interacted with some wonderful people over the years. I have definitely been blessed.

Sure I have had my share of drama and hard times, but I certainly hope that those times have made me a better, stronger person. I have come to love and accept myself, after struggling with low self-esteem for years. I have also come into my own as a person and a man. Yes, I am an interesting person, and yes, I am beautiful in my own way. As the unique individual that God made me to be.

When I walk down the street, I can’t say I feel much different than I did in my 40’s. When I look in the mirror though, I am starting to see my features change — I am looking more and more like my brother (not that that is a bad thing).

I am thankful to still have my parents, and my siblings. And most of all, I have a wonderful life partner and soon to be husband.

I have yet to receive my AARP membership card yet, but I will take any discounts that I can get! But for some reason, there is no standard age for when you are a senior. For some places it is 50, others, 55, 60, or 65.

I want to continue to be active: to go on hikes, go dancing, bike riding and more. I want to see Madonna on her 70th birthday tour. I want to laugh and share fun times with family and friends. I want to travel and see more of the world. There is much to look forward to and feel good about as I head into my next decade.

KiltManinSoCal is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and Real Men Wear Kilts lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Reflections on Turning 50" (1)

  1. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    Nice and beautiful speech Daniel. Our “masquerade is getting older” but that is good. I used to regret my past. Because my father saw that I was gay when I was around 24 and I kind of used to avoid him…(to talk, to stay together, sharing moments…) Now, I see how I miss him. He was a great guy. I used to be the crazy guy at the university…not taking care of my schedule properly…so, I remember that I quit the university in 2004. And believe me. I came back only in 2012….but only to graduate in English. I used to have many regrets from the past. Now, I am a 37 year old man…Ok, sometimes I have regrets, but sometimes I just laugh about what I have done. I am proud of you because you’re a 50 year old man and have a family that loves you (the same happens here). That is very good. Happy b-day! I know it is still coming….Take care, honey!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

