Views on pop culture through my eyes

Did you enjoy my trip down memory lane? Here are some more guys I am bringing back into the spotlight:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Paul Young
British soul singer Paul Young had the biggest hit of his career with his take on a song from Hall & Oates.
Essential songs: Everytime You Go Away, Come Back and Stay

Howard Jones
New wave keyboardist Howard Jones, have had a decently long career. He has written some great pop gems, that still sound great. He was one of the headliners on the Regeneration Tour last year.
Essential songs: Things Can Only Get Better, No One Is to Blame

Kenny Loggins
For a while this guy was the go-to singer for movie soundtracks in the 1980’s. And this was after his success with Jim Messina in the 70’s.
Essential songs: Footloose, I’m Alright, Danger Zone

Babyface
One of hottest singer, songwriter and producers of the 90’s and beyond. He has written and produced for Toni Braxton, Bobby Brown and more. Plus had hits on his own too.
Essential songs: Whip Appeal, It’s No Crime

Bobby Brown
He first came to prominence in the group New Edition, but after his 2nd album he was a star on his own. Lots of attitude and swagger… he owes a lot of his success to his songwriters and producers.
Essential songs: Don’t Be Cruel, My Prerogative

Billy Ocean
Equally adept at dance songs and ballads, this singer from Trinidad, had a good run of catchy songs.
Essential songs: Caribbean Queen, Get Out of My Dreams (Get into My Car)

Rick Astley
He looked like an Archie comic, but sang like a soul star. Thanks to the production team of Stock Aitken Waterman, he became a worldwide sensation.
Essential songs: Never Gonna Give You Up, Together Forever

Seal
This British soul singer definitely made a name for himself . First with his songs, second for who he married and divorced (Heidi Klum).
Essential songs: Crazy, Kiss from a Rose

Lenny Kravitz
American born rocker who hasn’t been shy about his love of music from decades past especially the 60’s and 70’s. He also acts — see The Hunger Games.
Essential songs: American Woman, It’s Not Over til It’s Over

That’s it for round 2. Did I leave anyone off? I would love to hear from you.

KiltManinSoCal is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and Real Men Wear Kilts lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Remember This: Male Singers Part 2" (1)

  1. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    Hi Daniel…Babyface, Ricky Astley, Seal and Lenny Kravitz are the names I most know here. Babyface not because of his songs, but because of his partnership with Madonna and because, for example, her Bedtime Stories album. Ricky Astley…my sisters used to enjoy him in the 1980’s. And the essential songs you mentioned there are exactly the songs that I remember being greatest hits. They were on the radio all the time in the 1980’s isn´t? Seal…his debut album and the other released in 1994 were famous here. Kiss from a Rose and Crazy…I have to admit that I loved (and I prefer) the version Alanis Morissette version. And Lenny Kravitz…even though I dont know his songs (maybe I know, and I dont know he is the singer….), I know he collaborated with Madonna while producing the song Justify My Love.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

