Views on pop culture through my eyes

Why Kilts Are for Me

For the past 10 years or so, I have been wearing a kilt almost daily. It has been one of the best times of my life honestly. I like being me, being Dan. And for a long time, I didn’t like me. Can I attribute that all to the fact that I like wearing kilts? I don’t think so. But one thing is for sure, I am not about to stop wearing them!DSCF1772

For me, it all started when I saw Utilikilts at the gay pride festival. I thought they looked cool, and started to look into getting one. I finally ordered one online, and haven’t looked back.

During those early kilt days, I wasn’t wearing it too much, just sometimes on the weekend or around the house. It took some getting used to honestly. But then I realized I could wear it so many different ways — dressed up for events, dressed down for hiking. So I started to wear it more and more.

I felt sexy and interesting. Someone I would want to talk to at a party. Yes, there were people staring, but more often than not people said I looked good, and wanted to know where I got it at. I know I started to feel better about myself.

I got another Utilikilt, and 2 more too. It was fun putting my outfits together, and having some fun with fashion. Something that I longed for, since I consider myself a creative person. It was refreshing that I was thinking outside the box of what a guy should dress like.

Also during the last 10 years, my relationship with my partner has deepened and my self-esteem and self-acceptance have increased. I love my life, and am happy I was able to survive those turbulent teen years. I am now a guy who is comfortable in his own skin.

So yeah, I get that I may get some stares with what I choose to wear. At this point in my life, I don’t give a fuck (excuse my language). This is me. It makes me happy and I know that I rock it.

I have gotten one nice dress kilt now, that I hope to get married in this year. Plus a leather one and another tartan sport kilt too. I know I will be getting more kilts in the future. So if you see a fun, life-loving guy out on the hiking trails, or at a concert in a kilt — be assured he is enjoying his life and living for himself.

KiltManinSoCal is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and Real Men Wear Kilts lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Why Kilts Are for Me" (5)

  1. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    Man! I am so proud of you! As I think I have told you over and over…I would never have the courage to dress a kilt. Not only because here people are still narrow-minded.But because, I have to admit, I dont feel myself wearing it. Not here in Brazil, at least. But on the other hand, I respect and I am very proud of people like you. Because you are who you are. You dress yourself in the way you feel good, happy. And you dont need to pretend a life style to the society. So, every time I read an article about the way you dress, the way you challange the society saying “Yes, that’s me Daniel. And respect me the way I am”….that is very good. Brazil, I think will take years to have an open minded society. Yes, we could have some very good conquest. But we still have a long and dusty road to drive to achieve it.

  2. Thanks so much for the compliments, my friend! I live my life for me… and that includes wearing what I want to wear… which are kilts a lot of the time.

  3. Have you announced a wedding?

  4. […] I Want to See in a Kilt. And I also informed people about kilts in my Kilt Q&A. And finally, Why Kilts Are for Me… because they are cool, and I look good in them. And who could forget: Can’t Be Naked? Kilt […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

