Views on pop culture through my eyes

Movie Franchises

I am a big movie fan. There have been some great movie franchises, and some terrible ones too. The studios are much more likely to green light a sequel or reboot these days than an original idea. So I got to thinking, what exactly are the good, fair and bad movie series out there? Here goes my list:Movies

Good Movie Series

  • Star Wars (6 movies, more on the way)
  • James Bond (23 movies, more on the way)
  • Indiana Jones (4 movies)
  • Harry Potter (8 movies)
  • Lord of the Rings/Hobbit (5 movies, 1 more on the way)
  • Austin Powers (3 movies)
  • Iron Man (3 movies)
  • Spiderman (3 movies, 1 reboot, more on the way)
  • Toy Story (3 movies)

In-Between Movie Series

(There are some great ones in the series, but quality was up and down overall)

  • Terminator (4 movies)
  • Alien (5 movies)
  • Fast and the Furious (6 movies, more on the way)
  • Superman (4 movies, plus 2 separate reboots, more on the way)
  • Batman (4 movies, plus 3 in the reboot)
  • Step Up (4 movies, another on the way)
  • Pirates of the Caribbean (4 movies)
  • Die Hard (5 movies)
  • Rocky (6 movies)
  • Scary Movie (5 movies)

Bad Movie Series

  • Twilight (4 movies)
  • Friday the 13th (12 movies)
  • Home Alone (4 movies)
  • Transformers (3 movies, more on the way)
  • Saw (6 movies)

What movies should be reboot and which movies are due for sequels? Read on to read my picks:

Re-Boot

  • The Naked Gun (3 movies)
  • Airplane (2 movies)
  • Sex and the City (2 movies)
  • Flash Gordon (1 movie)
  • Wonder Woman (no movies)
  • Baywatch (no movies)
  • Romancing the Stone (2 movies)
  • Indiana Jones (4 movies) What happened to the idea of having Shia LaBeouf take over for Harrison Ford? Maybe not him now… but still like the idea of bringing back this type of movie.
  • Blade (3 movies)

Sequel

  • Austin Powers (3 movies)
  • Moulin Rouge: (1 movie) How about Ewan McGregor and Leonardo DiCaprio competing for Anne Hathaway since Nicole Kidman died in the original.
  • Sex and the City (2 movies)
  • The Devil Wears Prada (1 movie)
  • Safety Not Guaranteed (1 movie) Such a cute romantic indie… I would love to see what happened next.
  • Mamma Mia (1 movie)
  • Tom Hanks (The DaVinci Code) (2 movies)
  • Mission Impossible (4 movies)
  • Pitch Perfect (1 movie) (Definitely happening)
  • Planet of the Apes (2011) (1 movie) (Definitely happening)

So that’s my list! What do you think? I would love to hear your thoughts.

KiltManinSoCal is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and  Real Men Wear Kilts lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Movie Franchises" (3)

  1. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    Many of the ones written here were part of my childhood, tennagerhood or even now…with my almost 40’s. I loved Indiana Jones and I have to admit that I used to look at Harrison Ford as a cute man. Rocky also was a movie that in Brazil had a great performance. I watched Saw…and man…I thought the scenes were very scary…as I comment to my friends, comparing this movie with Jason Friday 13…Jason looks like a cartoon. LOL. Romancing the Stone, I remember this movie too. I enjoyed it a lot. Twilight I didnt want to watch…but my twin sister sent me the books in English and I read all of them. All of them. The Devil Wears Prada is a good movie…Meryl Streep is certainly a great actress. I cried in the end of it…felt myself sad seeing the Iron Lady so badly in her mental and physical condition.

  2. I forgot one… Jurassic Park. That would be an in-between series too. I hear there is a 4th one on the way.

  3. […] lists. My love of lists brought us: male singers, female singers, and groups in the music field; movie franchises, and best dancers in pop music also got their own lists. Not to mention all the concert, movie and […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

