Views on pop culture through my eyes

Remember This: Female Singers

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This past summer’s Taylor Dayne concert got me thinking about all the great dance-pop women of the 1980’s and 90’s. All had a couple of hits, and they were good at the time. I want to know (other than Madonna and Janet Jackson — who are superstars), who you miss the most from that era and what were your favorite songs from them? The choices are:

Paula Abdul: Straight Up, Opposites Attract, Forever Your Girl, Rush Rush, Cold Hearted

Lisa Stansfield: All Around the World, Change, All Woman

Jody Watley: Looking for a New Love, Real Love, Friends, Still a Thrill, Most of All

Karyn White: The Way You Love Me, Superwoman, Romantic

Pebbles: Girlfriend, Mercedes Boy, Giving You the Benefit

Stacey Q.: Two of Hearts, We Connect, Insecurity

Laura Branigan: Gloria, Self Control, How Am I Supposed to Live Without You

Shiela E.: The Glamorous Life, Love Bizarre, Hold Me

Samantha Fox: Naughty Girls (Need Love Too), I Wanna Have Some Fun, Touch Me

Irene Cara: Fame, Flashdance…What a Feeling, Breakdancing, On My Own

Sheena Easton: Morning Train (9 to 5), Strut, Sugar Walls, Telephone (Long Distance Love Affair)

Tiffany: I Think We’re Alone Now, Couldv’e Been, I Saw Him Standing There

Debbie Gibson: Shake Your Love, Lost in Your Eyes, Only in My Dreams, Electric Youth

Cherelle: Saturday Love, You Love Good to Me, Artificial Heart, I Didn’t Mean to Turn You On

Amber: This is Your Night, One More Night, Sexual (Li Da Di),

CeCe Peniston: Finally, Hit by Love, I’m in the Mood

Kylie Minogue: Locomotion, It’s No Secret, Can’t Get You Out of My Head

Cathy Dennis: C’mon and Get My Love, Too Many Walls, Just Another Dream

Gloria Estefan: 1-2-3, Can’t Stay Away from You, Rhythm is Gonna Get You, Conga, Don’t Wanna Lose You

Cyndi Lauper: Girls Just Wanna Have Fun, She Bop, True Colors, Time After Time

Grace Jones: Pull Up to the Bumper, Slave to the Rhythm

Shannon: Let the Music Play, Give Me Tonight, It’s Over Love

Evelyn Champagne King: Shame, Love Come Down

Amazingly I have met 3 of them now: Taylor Dayne, Amber and Stacey Q. (Plus Janet too.) Who were you favorites and why? And who do you want to see make a comeback?

KiltManinSoCal is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and  Rock the Kilt lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Remember This: Female Singers" (5)

  1. guy.hubbard@att.net said:

    Favorite female singer: Cyndi Lauper

    Favorite songs: Girls Just Wanna Have Fun, True Colors & Time After Time

  2. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    When I consider your list… Well, some of them, I know and I liked too. Paula Abdul…all the greatest hits you wrote played a lot here too…also one that comes in my mind now,,,Rush, Rush…I remember myself in Rio de Janeiro, during the vacations…and this song was in the radio a lot. Lisa Stansfield was a successful singer here, I think in the 1980’s…or was it in the 1990’s? I dont know the song, but there was a song that also was a greatest hits here. Laura Branigan, the song Gloria is unforgettable. I remember the girl dancing in the movie Flashdance…sadly, I didnt know that she passed away so young….Irene Cara’s..Flashdance, What a feeling…how could I forget it? This movie was also a successful one here. Her voice sounded very beautiful. Debbie Gibson had some greatest hits in the 1980’s, but I have to admit, that none of them come in my mind…Kylie Minongue also had greatest hits here…Cant get out of my head was over and over listened to in the gay clubs here….is she the woman that sings “I feel so lucky, lucky…”? If yes, it was a hit here too…Gloria Estefan…I have to admit that I dont think she has a great voice…I dont know about it nowadays, but I have the CD Divas Live VH1 and considering the singers (Mariah Carey that I love, also Celine Dion and all the other ones…in my opinion Gloria had the worst voice…didnt catch my attention that much….but ok, here she was….ok…. Cyndi Lauper, I have a lot of her albums. Her voice is very beautiful and good. I’ve been listening a lot her 1993 album Hat Full Of Stars….I have many of her albums, as I told you before….Nice and very interesting article, by the way……

    • Cool to hear you like a lot of the same singers as me. Gloria Estefan is a good singer… does she have a great range, no. But she is a great songwriter and performer. I have enjoyed her concerts very much. And yes, you were right about Kylie’s song “I Should Be So Lucky” that is her.

  3. […] of 100 Lists”? Well, I am the guy with a 100 lists. My love of lists brought us: male singers, female singers, and groups in the music field; movie franchises, and best dancers in pop music also got their own […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

