Views on pop culture through my eyes

Testimonies of Gratitude

I try my best to live in gratitude every minute of every day. I wanted to spotlight three things that I am grateful for:

Penpals
I have been fortunate to meet and get to know some great people over the years. These are people that I met through various pen pal programs over the years — from the Gay Center, fan clubs for Madonna and Janet, and others from the internet. I have only met 2 of them over the years, most of our communications have been via letters and later on via emails. One friend I have been writing to for almost 30 years and we have never met. I just want to say how much I appreciate their friendship and let them know how much I love them in my life.

Music
I can’t imagine a life without music. It makes me smile, makes me want to dance and sing along. Hearing certain songs brings great feelings about the time the song came out, who I was friends with, what we were doing. Others remind me of how lucky I am to have my partner. Others remind me of all the fun shows I have been to over the years, and how the performer was able to make a connection with the audience. I am grateful to my parents to exposing me to their favorites and having all those Christmas sing-alongs over the years.

Individuality
When I was young, I really felt different and that I didn’t fit in. I was the square peg in the round hole. I was the giraffe in the room — someone who would stand out in a  room and not for a good reason. But as I have gotten older, I have realized an important lesson. God does not make mistakes. He made me the beautiful and unique individual I am today. I don’t need to “fit in”; I can be the man I want to be, and I don’t have to conform to what society or religion expects me to be. I am Dan and that’s all there is to it.WhyConform

This is just a small sample of my gratitude list. Being grateful is a way of life in my life, I hope you make it one in yours.

KiltManinSoCal is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and  Rock the Kilt lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Testimonies of Gratitude" (1)

  1. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    Nice article, Daniel. About penpals….well, the internet has made us write less letters, I think. But I still feel the pleasure and enjoy the idea of sitting down and writing a letter..When it is a Madonna fan, as in our case, to get the articles, the pictures and put it in the envelope, close it….I have a cousin, she lives in Rio de Janeiro….we stay in touch since 1989, I think. And since a good time we’ve have been friends too. That is great. Music for me is everything…I am not hanging out, having fun…since I am unemployed and that sucks….But I still enjoy the idea of going to a disco and dancing a lot. Also, when I am a upset, I go to my bedroom and dance a lot, until I sweat. Music makes me feel better when I am not very happy. About individuality, we’re all special. Each human being has a certain and unique quality. I am what I am. And being gay or not, we all must try to find our happiness…That is what life taught me.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

