Views on pop culture through my eyes

Being Me

My lover has said to me — being with me is like always being on parade. He’s entitled to his opinion! I get what he said, but you know what — who doesn’t love a parade! Why not celebrate your life — and be the funky, crazy, unique person you were born to be. I can push the limits for sure. But at the end of the day, it is Dan being Dan. And why should I have to live by what someone else thinks of me? I know my life is better, when I just let myself be. God made me perfect as I am.DSCF1652

One of my personal heroes is Madonna. Here is a strong powerful individual who is not afraid to march to the beat of her own drum. I relate to her! I always felt like an outcast when I was growing up. I was never macho enough, good looking enough, not into sports, a bit of a nerd, and good at school. Plus I was shy too, which made it hard for me to make many friends.

Now here I am approaching 50, and comfortable in my own skin. So yeah, I like to rock a kilt, shave my head or have a mohawk. Plus I love female singers, boy bands, Speedos, and being with my lover intimately. God doesn’t make mistakes. He made me perfect as I am.

So yeah, I gave the neighbors and some strangers a show recently. I wore my black kilt, with purple knee socks and a purple shirt. And we got into a friend’s car that was blasting some old-school Madonna. So, yes, my lover may have been gay by association at that moment. But hey, I know I rocked the look, and thinking about it now makes me feel good and brings a smile to my face. It is good to be me.

I am glad I lived through those darker days, and now I can enjoy being me.

KiltManinSoCal is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and  Rock the Kilt lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Being Me" (2)

  1. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    Hi Daniel…Nice article. Well, I am what I am…I still dance Madonna songs and people look at me and ask “Dont you think you are too old to dance in this way?”….The anwer is no. I was not into sports too. Never played football, for example….and Brazil is know as the country of football….Life taught me that we must be ourselves even to conquer some respect. “Am I too old to dance Madonna songs?” “Shouldnt I dress a kind of tshirt?”….Well, that is my problem. When I had long hair people were annoying me because of it. I dont have a haircut because of people’s pressure….I do it because I want to do it. The clothes I have, if people complains…..as Madonna sings “I dont give a….” So, being myself, conquering my space…being gay….made me feel happier. People respect me. So, I dont let people annoying me….

  2. […] issues along myself with being so open and honest about my life and my relationship. Love is Love, Being Me, Why Are People So Afraid of Gay Couples, and Catholics and Marriage Equality: A Personal […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

