Views on pop culture through my eyes

Kilt Q&A

As the owner of this blog, I thought I would answer some commonly asked questions that I often hear about kilts and kilt owners:KiltManinSoCal

When did you first start wearing kilts?
I bought my first Utilikilt about 12 years ago. I had seen them online and at various festivals too. I got up the courage to finally buy one and I have never gone back. From there I bought, another and then another. Now I have 4 Utilikilts and 1 Scottish kilt.

Do you have to be Scottish to wear one?
No. What first appealed to me, was that it was different and that it looked cool. It was stylish and had a bit of a rock & roll edge to it. I have Scottish ancestry on my mother’s side, but have only seen 1 photo of any family members in a kilt. I have since learned what clan the family was from (Gordon) and finally have a Scottish kilt in my family tartan (plaid) after wearing only Utilikilts for years.

What do you wear under your kilt?
Most times I go commando (regimental). But when I am going to be getting up and down a lot (like when I go to the Concerts in the Park, and often just sit on a blanket), or going to a more formal event, I will wear underwear.

What kilts do you recommend?
I done some investigating with kilts, since I am into them. Some of the companies I recommend are: Sport Kilt, Amerikilt, Utilikilts — my personal fav, Heritage of Scotland, Atlanta Kilts, UT Kilts, Bilt Kilt and Stumptown Kilts. I only have personal experience with Utilikilts and Atlanta Kilts, but the others defintitely have some nice products. Prices and styles vary.

Have you ever had sex in your kilt?
Yes, and it only happened once. It was when my partner and I went on a hike. We found a secluded spot, and it was nice to have the easy access. All I had to do was lift up the kilt… and the rest is in your imagination.

What do you do when someone calls it a skirt?
I will usually correct them depending on who is doing it and what the context is. Some people are not sure it is a kilt, if I am wearing a utility-type one. I have heard kids call it a skirt a few times as in “Daddy, why is that guy wearing a skirt?” But then, the parent will usually correct them and tell them it is kilt.

Any embarrassing situations happen while wearing it?
Not really. The closest I can think of is one time when I went to a Madonna concert. When I came out, it was raining, so I decided to run to the car. I definitely felt the kilt flip up as I was running. And no, there was no one else around. I was commando that night — which is best for all the dancing I did at the show.

Do you play (or where are) the bagpipes?
I have been asked this more times than I can count! No, I don’t play the bagpipes and have no interest in learning them. People don’t get that I like to wear kilts on a casual basis. There doesn’t have to be a special event or a Scottish festival for me to wear one.

KiltManinSoCal is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and  Rock the Kilt lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Kilt Q&A" (4)

  1. guy.hubbard@att.net said:

    I’m surprised by the bagpipe question. Do people believe that every man in Scotland wearing a kilt plays a bagpipe? Playing a bagpipe requires great skill, just as with any other musical instrument.

  2. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    Nice article. Tells a little bit a story about you and kilts. As I wrote once, people here in Brazil are still narrow-minded. i have nothing aggainst men wearing it. For me it is great. I just dont know if here, I would be able to wear one. But in the USA or in other land, wny not? i always had the opinion that when I see your photos wearing them, you always look great. Shows that you have your own personality, your own way to life your life. We must be ourselves. Remember the article I mailed you about the guy that was expelled from the graduation party? That is….still reality here. Although this is not the kind of clothing I would wear….I feel proud of you…because you challange the society being yourelf and being happy.

  3. Wearing a kilt fits me… plain and simple. I know it is a challenge sometimes for some of my friends… but when I stopped caring what other people thought, my life got better.

  4. […] secret kilt crushes in Guys I Want to See in a Kilt. And I also informed people about kilts in my Kilt Q&A. And finally, Why Kilts Are for Me… because they are cool, and I look good in them. And who […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

