Views on pop culture through my eyes

Can’t Be Naked? Kilt It

As much as I love being naked, there are times you have to wear some clothes. Wearing a kilt is about as close to being naked as you can get. My love affair with kilts began over 10 years ago. I had seen kilts at various street fairs and gay pride festivals, and thought they looked cool. I finally got the nerve to order one over the net, and I haven’t looked back. Now a day doesn’t go by where I don’t wear a kilt. It fits me, I love how it feels and looks, and I know that I rock it too.Dan w/ Kilt Commando

Kilts are not for the faint-hearted. You have to have some balls so to speak to wear one. You definitely will be attracting attention to yourself — but so what? Why be normal? What fun is there in that! They are great conversation starters, and can be dressed up or dressed down to fit just about any situation. I have worn mine to weddings, parties, hiking, shopping, concerts and much more.

So where can I buy a kilt you ask? Here’s my list of the top kilt makers on the market — both utility kilts and traditional ones too.

Sport Kilt
Are you the sporty type? Then these kilts may be for you. They are the preferred kilts of athletes in the Highland Games. They are light-weight and comfortable, with a velcro closure and a touch of elastic in the waistband. Prices range from $59.50 to $89.50 for the original model. Available in traditional Scottish tartans (plaid) as well as some camo models too.

Amerikilt
Another good American kilt manufacturer is Amerikilt — The American Kilt. Great casual kilts, these kilts are typical utility-type kilts with a detachable sporran (pouch) made from the same cotton fabric. Solid colors are standard, but they do offer a tye-die version too. Prices range from $109 to $179 for their kilts.

Utilikilts
The most famous and one of the most stylish of the utility kilts are made in Seattle, WA. Their tagline is “We Sell Freedom.” These are the kilts that have been featured on “Survivor” and “True Blood.” They come in solid colors, as well as some nice camo versions also. The original comes with 2 large cargo pockets, and features a snap front. Prices range from $150 for the new standard, to $220 for the original version. Tux and leather versions are also available at much higher prices.

Heritage of Scotland
For traditionalists, this is the way to go. Actually made in the United Kingdom, they offer a wide range of Scottish kilts as well as all the accessories to go with it: shoes, sporran, jacket, shirt, socks, etc. So if you are planning on getting gay married, this may be the way to go. Packages range from $163 to $1000+ for deluxe outfits.

Atlanta Kilts
Not ready to commit to buying one? Well, how about renting one. This firm offers specials for full kilt outfit rentals, great for the entire wedding party.  Rentals start at just $45, and go up to $179 for the full outfit. They also sell the individual items too.

Other US-based kilt companies include: UT Kilts, Bilt Kilt and Stumptown Kilts.

One word of caution when ordering online: Please be sure to follow the specific instructions provided by the manufacturer. Your pant size does not necessarily coincide with sizing for kilts. I wouldn’t want you to order the wrong size now.

So when you have to throw on some clothes next time you leave the house, consider wearing a kilt. You won’t regret it, in fact, you may find the experience addictive. As for the age-old question, what do your wear under your kilt? Commando is the way to go — feels great, and don’t forget the easy access too. And like any good nudist, I am not afraid to show people either when they ask. Real men do wear kilts, and they look good doing it.

KiltManinSoCal is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and  Rock the Kilt lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Can’t Be Naked? Kilt It" (2)

  1. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    Hello Daniel. I always felt myself proud of having a friend that wears kilts. Your photos wearing it are just amazing. This article, for the ones that are interesing to get one kilt, will certainly help. There are many good ideas shared here. As I told you, Brazil is still a narrow-minded place. That is a shame, but I think that if a man here wears it, people will have 2 reactons
    01) They will look at him as an ET
    02), Idiots will shot words such as “faggot”, “gay”….remember the article I mailed you once…that the guy was not allowed to go to a graduation party? Yes…that happened….So, for the US citizen, that are not so worried about what a person will wear…because certainly this will not compromise his personality this article seems very good. Because you can help the buyers to choose their right option, the right way to….strike a pose!!

  2. […] Here are some highlights from the past year. I still love my individuality and how I express myself. I answered back a kilt hater with Top 5 Reasons My Kilt Rocks. I highlighted the Top 10 Places to Wear Speedos. I admitted my secret kilt crushes in Guys I Want to See in a Kilt. And I also informed people about kilts in my Kilt Q&A. And finally, Why Kilts Are for Me… because they are cool, and I look good in them. And who could forget: Can’t Be Naked? Kilt It. […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

