Views on pop culture through my eyes

Best Dancers in Pop Music

Dancing allows an individual to express themselves with their body. Combine that with a competent singing voice, and you have an exciting entertainer — one who puts on a captivating live show and has some riveting music videos. Here’s my list of the best dancers in pop music (past and present), in no particular order:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Prince
The Purple one is not one for elaborate choreography, but he sure knows how to move. And he usually does it in high heel boots too.

Madonna
Pop music’s queen didn’t get to where she is on her singing voice. She is a very athletic and limber dancer who puts on a high-energy live show.

Janet Jackson
Ever since she proclaimed her independence on “Control”, she has had a place in pop music history. Funky, fierce and in control, Janet is not one to mess with.

Justin Timberlake
He started out in boy band NSync, and went on to be a superstar in his solo career. He has shown how great a dancer he is in his concerts tours and videos.

Britney Spears
Sexy moves, along with suggestive lyrics, a hot body and catchy songs have all kept her career going strong. Definitely influenced by Madonna… she has learned well.

Lady GaGa
Mother monster has created some fantastic mini movies with her music videos. In concert, she put on a high-energy show (such that she injured herself this year, having to cancel the rest of the tour).

Paula Abdul
She started as a Laker Girl, and then did choreography for various film, TV and music videos projects. Not to mention her own chart topping singing career too.

Usher
He first opened for Janet Jackson as a teen, but has evolved into a one of the modern kings of R&B. He can have you banging in the club or wanting to make love.

Chris Brown
Say what you will about him as a person, but there is no denying this guy can move and entertain the crowds.

Beyonce
Destiny’s Child proved she could sing. But in her solo career, she has really proved she can move. And start a music video craze on YouTube too.

Jennifer Lopez
She started as a Fly Girl on “In Living Color,” and is now the triple threat (actor, dancer, singer) plus much more.

Ne-Yo
One of the smoothest movers out there, he makes it all seem so easy.

And let us not forget those who have died, and are now in the Dance Hall of Fame:

Michael Jackson
All of the male dancers on here have been influenced by him. He basically set the gold standard for being an entertainer. And he always gave the audience his all.

James Brown
Yes, he got easier to parody in his later years. But do yourself a  favor and check out his old performances. Another influential entertainer.

So did I leave anyone out? Who do you think is the best dancer in pop music? I would love to hear from you.

KiltManinSoCal is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and  Rock the Kilt lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Best Dancers in Pop Music" (4)

  1. guy.hubbard@att.net said:

    Your list is nearly complete. The earliest movement influence, besides James Brown, was Jackie Wilson. He was such an exciting performer.

    Jack Leroy “Jackie” Wilson, Jr. (June 9, 1934 — January 21, 1984) was an American singer and performer. Known as “Mr. Excitement”, Wilson was important in the transition of rhythm and blues into soul. He was known as a master showman, and as one of the most dynamic singers and performers in R&B and rock history. Gaining fame in his early years as a member of the R&B vocal group Billy Ward and His Dominoes, he went solo in 1957 and recorded over 50 hit singles that spanned R&B, pop, soul, doo-wop and easy listening. During a 1975 benefit concert, he collapsed on-stage from a heart attack and subsequently fell into a coma that persisted for nearly nine years until his death in 1984. By this time, he had become one of the most influential artists of his generation.

    A two-time Grammy Hall of Fame Inductee, Jackie Wilson was inducted to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1987 In 2004, Rolling Stone magazine ranked Jackie Wilson #68 on their list of the 100 Greatest Artists of All Time.

    8:37 Jackie Wilson Live That’s Why & Lonely Teardrops

    2:55 Jackie Wilson Baby Workout – Live 1965by Dariane Mello Jackson

    14:02 Jackie Wilson – Shindig Appearances Part 1by Roy Gardnerra

    https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=jackie+wilson&oq=jackie+wilson&gs_l=youtube.1.0.0l10.1388.5917.0.9737.13.7.0.6.6.0.281.863.3j3j1.7.0…0.0…1ac.1.11.youtube.eWGLVNtuOxQ

  2. Thanks, Guy, I will have to check out that clip. Another one, I forgot was Tina Turner! How could i forget her! I remember seeing her on tour when she was 60… and still dancing up a storm.

  3. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    prince, madonna janet jackson, justin, britney, lady gaga, paula abdul, usher, chris brown, beyonce, jennifer lopez, ne-yo, MJ, James Brown…..
    Well, considering your list….I have something to say: Prince…I like his songs, some of them, although at least here in Brazil, he is kind of fadded….I remember when he turned his name into a symbol….I think in 1995, long time ago. Madonna…of course, she is my top ten. She made me learn English, she gave me strength to ensure myself as a gay person. She is certainly a person that will be always remembered int he future…She has changed generations. Janet Jackson….I dont know her work very well….I remember the video “Scream” with MJ, that was a multi million production….and really good…The song also, I remember myself dancing. Justin….I remember him too….NSync….now as a solo artist sounds he conquered his own road…and the 4 Minutes video with Madonna….great. Well, Britney….I like her. I have many of her albums. Comparing her to Christina Aguilera, that took a kind of R&B way later, I am listening more Britney Spears…I have some of her albums. She came here once, to perform in Rock in Rio…..but she did lip sync and it was not a good idea…the audience realised it….Lady Gaga….I have to admit, she is not my type. I like some of her songs, but it is not the kind of singer I love. I think she immitates Madonna a lot and that is not a good idea. One thing is to inspire a person….as Madonna inspired herself in Olivia Newton Jonh and ABBA (costumes, songs) other is to immitate…she copies Madonna a lot and I dislike it…but I have to admit, some of her songs, I think are good. Paula Abdul….I remember when she had a greatest hit here I think called Rush, Rush and it was a great song. Some of her songs are remarkable. Beyonce is great too. She is coming to my city, Belo Horizonte, to perform…..MJ….I know he did a great work…but you may call me crazy….but….considering the choreographies, I think Madonna is much better…..
    Well, as always, amazing article
    Take care!

  4. […] brought us: male singers, female singers, and groups in the music field; movie franchises, and best dancers in pop music also got their own lists. Not to mention all the concert, movie and TV reviews/mentions I covered […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

