Views on pop culture through my eyes

It seems fitting that I publish this post this week, given what is happening with the Supreme Court. It was originally written for the Courage Campaign, in response to why we deserve marriage equality.

My partner and I am have been together for 24 years. It hasn’t always been easy, but we love each other and are committed to our relationship.  We still make each other laugh, and we enjoy each other’s company. We are each other’s best friend.Dan & Rasheed

We came together in the age of AIDS and watched as friends died off. We have seen societal changes in gay acceptance… from people being afraid of gays and wishing they could change — to today, when it is seen as just something that is and not something that needs to be fixed or cured. Not everyone is straight and that is OK.

We shop together, go to the movies, go on hikes, do all the normal stuff that all couples do. We recently had a scary episode where my partner passed out at a friend’s place… we ended up in the emergency room that night. I was able to sit by his bedside as they tried to find out what was wrong. I was glad that I could be there for him and not out waiting in the lobby.

This incident just confirmed what I already know. I love this man, he is my life partner. I don’t want to live my life without him.

Our relationship is special and I would love to marry my partner. We missed our chance to get married when it was legal in 2008… I never thought it would be taken away so easily. I long for the day when we can make it legal in the state of California. And to celebrate that special day with family and friends.

Sincerely,

Daniel LaVenture

Spice69man is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and  Rock the Kilt lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Why We Deserve To Be Married" (3)

  1. Bryan J Blumberg said:

    I’m sorry to learn via a blog post that Habeeb passed out and had to go to the ER. I presume he fully recovered. I wish you both well.

  2. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    Great article, Daniel. Here in Brazil, people are going to the court to have their marriage legalized….once I think happened this week. And we had great advances, I think it is a good advance. If you type on youtube “propaganda natura 2013” you’ll see a couple of gays, in the sofa. and maybe the women together are lesbian. We would never think about one advertisment published, mentioning gays on tv so clearly years ago. If you have time, watch it and show your partner it. All over Brazil, sometimes I listen a news about gays that got their civil marriage. It happened here at least 3 times, in my State. And as your article says, we deserve to be married….why not? I think it is a conquer of the society….Some people will be against it, some will express their prejudice….but this is the society….take a look at the Brazilian ad if you have time. At the 0,23 seconds there are gays, and seems that there are lesbians,,,the woman that touches the pregnant one…..

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

