Views on pop culture through my eyes

I have had this title for a while, and I am finally tackling it. It was said to my partner by a friend after spending the day with me at the gay pride parade. He was referring to me when he said it. I laughed when I heard it, and I agree with it.

Hollywood Bowl 2013

Hollywood Bowl 2013

People are complex. You can love your family and love violent video games. You can sing in the church choir but love heavy metal in the car. You can love eating a burger one day, and salads the rest of the week. I can love men, and love God.

I grew up in a strict Catholic household. We went to church every Sunday and holy day, plus I went to Catholic school for 13 years too. For grammar school, we had to wear uniforms. For high school, we had a strict dress code.

Sometimes I do like pressing buttons like my idol, Madonna. She has always been one to question the norm. She wore her underwear on the outside, with rosaries and crucifixes hanging down. She has danced and posed provocatively for the camera and on stage.

So as for me, I can be dressed in dockers and a dress shirt for work, and then I enjoy walking down Santa Monica Blvd in my Speedos for Gay Pride. I can be in jeans and a polo shirt some days, and other days I am in my kilt with a concert T-shirt and  a Mohawk. These are all the sides of what makes me Dan.

Am I doing something to be  ‘in your face’? Maybe. Nothing wrong with giving them something to talk about as the song says. When I wear my Speedos at the pool at the gym, that is expected. When I wear them to the pool at the apartment, it is a little different but still not unexpected. When I wear them to take the trash out when it’s 110 degrees in the Valley, then I am being a bit in your face. But hey, it’s hot! And hey, it’s me! Just being comfortable in my opinion. I don’t think they would want me to do that naked!

With the kilt, it is all about me being me. It just fits me. I am comfortable and feel good about myself.  I know it is not “the norm” but why should I be normal? I fought so hard over the years to fit in… when I realized I was born to stand out! I can dress very rocker kilt guy with boots and mesh shirt one day, and then I can dress it up with a shirt and tie and dress shoes for going to church.

As for the innocence thing, well, I think that goes back to me being sort of a shy and quiet person. I was never one to slut around, and I have been in a relationship for over 24 years. But hey, I enjoy flirting from time to time, and being sexy too. I still know who is going to be in my bed at night!

So I will keep living my life and giving people something to talk about. As Madonna says “Poor is the man whose pleasure depends on the permission of another.” So if you see me strutting down the street in a camo kilt with a shaved head, just know that I am comfortable in my own skin. I hope you are too.

Spice69man is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Marriage Equality and  Rock the Kilt lines. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Innocence and ‘In Your Face’" (1)

  1. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    hi Daniel,,,,Nice article…all I have to say is that Brazil must walk a lot to reach this kind of thougths….a person wearing speedos on the streets here would be a strange act. Well, if were a citizen of Rio de Janeiro City for example, that would be not so bad….but here if I put the trash out wearing it, people would look at me with a strange look. Man wearing kilt here, although I like it, it would be out of question too. Unfortunately, Brazil seens to be in the Dark Ages….

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

