Views on pop culture through my eyes

Oscar Picks 2013

The past year was another great year at the movies. We had fun blockbusters like “The Hunger Games” and “The Avengers” as well as more serious far like “Flight” and “Zero Dark Thirty.” Not to mention quirky indie movies like “Beasts of the Southern Wild.”Oscars 2013

Here are my picks for the top 6 awards. And in case you question my judgment, I won the Oscar Pool last year, and have gotten close a couple of times in previous years too. I am an avid movie fan, even taking a few movie vacations where I go to the movies every day that I am off. So here goes with my predictions:

Best Picture

The nominees are: Amour, Argo, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Django Unchained, Les Misérables, Life of Pi, Lincoln, Silver Linings Playbook, Zero Dark Thirty

The race is looking to be a 2-movie race at this point: Lincoln and Argo. Both historical dramas based on real life events. Both helmed by award-winning directors with all-star casts. But if we follow the momentum, it is going to go to Argo.

Final pick: Argo

Best Actress

The nominees are: Jessica Chastain(Zero Dark Thirty), Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook), Emmanuelle Riva (Amour), Quvenzhané Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild), Naomi Watts (The Impossible)

The two lady J’s (Jessica and Jennifer) are the ones who are in it to win it. Decent box office for both of their movies, plus this is the 2nd nomination for both of them. But with a starring role in “The Hunger Games” too, I think it will be Jennifer.

Final pick: Jennifer Lawrence

Best Actor

The nominees are: Bradley Cooper (Silver Linings Playbook),  Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln),  Hugh Jackman (Les Misérables),  Joaquin Phoenix (The Master), Denzel Washington (Flight)

Hugh Jackman and Daniel Day-Lewis are the leaders in this pack. Les Misérables had mixed reviews compared to Lincoln, so I would give it to Daniel. Third time to the podium for him.

Final pick: Daniel Day-Lewis

Best Supporting Actress

The nominees are: Amy Adams(The Master),
 Sally Field (Lincoln), Anne Hathaway (Les Misérables), Helen Hunt (The Sessions), Jacki Weaver (Silver Linings Playbook)

One veteran and one young actress are the leaders in this field. Sally Field and Anne Hathaway have both picked up trophies throughout this awards season. I think it is Anne’s turn, when you take into account her portrayal of Cat Woman in “The Dark Knight Rises.”

Final pick: Anne Hathaway

Best Supporting Actor

The nominees are: Alan Arkin(Argo), Robert De Niro (Silver Linings Playbook), Philip Seymour Hoffman (The Master), Tommy Lee Jones (Lincoln), Christoph Waltz (Django Unchained)

This is a tough one to predict. Everyone has won before! Sweeps for Argo, Lincoln or Silver Linings Playbook could bring along their actors too. But I am thinking it will be Christoph.

Final pick: Christoph Waltz

Best Director

The nominees are: Michael Haneke (Amour), Benh Zeitlin (Beasts of the Southern Wild),  Ang Lee (Life of Pi), Steven Spielberg (Lincoln),  David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook)

Two former winners in the mix, with one big omission who should have been a front runner, Ben Affleck (recent winner at the Director’s Guild for Argo). For filming a so-called unfilmable book, Life of Pi, I am going to go with Ang Lee.

Final pick: Ang Lee

So enjoy the show, and let me know if you did well in any Oscar Pools. I will see you at the movies.

Spice69man is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Hiking in the Spirit and the Kilt Man line. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Oscar Picks 2013" (4)

  1. I agree with you for the most part! I think Director may go to Benh though for two reasons: debut film was spectacular and two the other Ben should have won haha

    Entertainment News/Reviews Website: http://www.vlizz.com

  2. guy.hubbard@att.net said:

    Very well reasoned thoughts for your selections. I’m mostly in agreement with you for the main part. We differ on a few categories. I think it will be Tommy Lee Jones for Lincoln or De Niro for Silver Linings Playbook. I think Jones has a slight edge due to the general feelings for LIncoln. I think Spielberg will win for Best Director, also due to the feelings for Lincoln. Guy

  3. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    I have to admit that Oscar is not a party that caughts my attention. I prefer the MTV Video Music Awards. But sometimes I take a look at it. The problem here is that they translate the show while people are talking in English and that makes it a little bit boring for me….But it is a good celebration and a way for us to see our greatest icons…..

  4. […] Movies/TV I have talked about how to fix American Idol, to my Oscar picks, to reviews of new shows and movies. I strive to be the pop culture expert on the web for my […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

