Views on pop culture through my eyes

Breaking Stereotypes

People love to judge other people. People often do judge a book by its cover. I am currently reading the Steve Jobs bio, and he was quite a man. How else can you explain, a hippie who smells bad, with scruffy looks and bare feet being able to win people over? That was one of the early stories I remember from the book. He had great ideas and that showed through.

According to the dictionary, a stereotype is an idea, trait, convention, etc, that has grown stale through fixed usage; a set of inaccurate, simplistic generalizations about a group that allows others to categorize them and treat them accordingly.

Examples of common stereotypes are “Football players are stupid” or “All gay men are effeminate.”

I try to do my best to break down stereotypes. To show people the real me, someone who is complex, and has different facets to his personality. Here is why I feel that I am blazing a trail in my corner of the world.

  1. I pray. Yes, I am a gay man. But God is important in my life, and I pray too. One does not exclude the other, but so many people seem to think that it does. My spirituality does not oppress others — people have a right to be who they want to be, and love who they want to be.
  2. I am a man. And I enjoy being one. Just cause I am gay doesn’t mean I want to become a woman, wear a dress or be meek and timid.
  3. I question the norms. Who’s to say a man in less masculine because he wears a kilt? I enjoy wearing them and get a lot of compliments on them. Women are often compelled to talk to me. Straight men like the cool colors and patterns on them.
  4. I am in a long-term relationship. There are more of us out there than you think. When I tell people how long my partner and I have been together, they are shocked and happy for us.
  5. I am in an interracial relationship. I never went looking for a partner of a different race, he was just someone I clicked with. I am not his sugar daddy, and neither is he mine. We are equals, and contemporaries.
  6. I am a home body. Neither one of us is a big club or bar person. We would rather stay at home watch videos and scrapbook too. How boring and normal is that?
  7. I am creative. I am not a hair dresser, actor, flight attendant, florist or any other supposedly gay occupation. If I went by our friends, the most common occupation would be teacher. I am a graphic designer, not an interior decorator.

What stereotypes do you break? I would love to hear from you.

Spice69man is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Hiking in the Spirit and Real Kilt Men Wear Speedos. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Breaking Stereotypes" (7)

  1. guy.hubbard@att.net said:

    The only comment I would question is #3. Men in Scotland, the origin of the Kilt, never encounter the charge of being less masculine. Only the ignorant, biased or stupid would ever make such a charge and you can’t pay any attention to them. Knowing such people will not advance you in life, except for the awareness exposure brings. Fortunately, you are also intelligent and able to spot these fallacies in people’s thinking.

  2. Im now officially your biggest fan. You are awesome.

  3. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    Considering your list…I pray sometimes, but not always, I have to admit it. Not used to go to the church on Sundays, but sometimes I go with my mother. And she feels glad when I go with her to share that moment. Yes…I am also a man. I feel so mad when stupid guys come and ask me if I would like to be a woman, dress like a woman….I say that I love being a gay man. And that is all. Wearing a kilt? I have nothing against it. I also think it is a beautiful woredrobe….but here I think people would be narrow minded…Once a stylist tried to release a kilt here…nobody had the guts to wear them….I used to listen when I was younger that men does not cry…only women could cry. But you know what? I cry. And I dont care if I will be labeled as a gay person…Actually I am gay! So what? And I cry when I have to do it.

  4. with your honesty and straightforwardness, you sure did break the stereotype. im’a share this to my friends 🙂 God Bless.

  5. I face the interracial issue. My partner in my #Blovel (Blog + Novel) is a different race then me, and when we walk the streets, it’s usually positive comments, but we actually had ten year girl say we were as “Ugly ass oreo couple”

  6. Methinks that generally us humans get way too hung up on the concept of “judging”, discrimination, or stereotypical observations. Being somewhat of a humanist I suppose I prefer to embrace the traits and instincts Nature programs into our species to survive. First off, we were “given” the trait to reason as a suvival mechanism. This means we can use our abilities to determine cause and effect; separating one action over another based on perceived consequences. This simply extends to the idea of judging or stereotyping each other. The conflict with that is when we act on these differences (perceived or real) to determine relationships or promote harmful actions.

    I’ve always thought my folks did a great job making sure I had a balanced upbringing regarding race and social discrimination. But.. having acknowledged that, real life has taught me that certain people from some cultures can be difficult, and to understand that there can be certain “generality” sterotypes that may define one group of people over another. I have been “taught” to expect an action from certain people… as a whole. Does this make me some sort of racist? Of course not. Because I don’t spend my waking hours preaching ill-will toward anyone and I base my relationships with my fellow human beings face-to-face. Which brings me to my point here…

    If you want to change a stereotype then do it in your next face-to-face relationship. If you want people to understand your way of life, religion, nationality, whatever… then communicate and explain and welcome the questions… like in a blog such as this. One more thing… stereotypes is what makes comedy in this world. Most stand up comedians use it because we love to poke fun at ourselves and our differences. “Stereotype” is not a bad word. The worse word is “discrimination”, which is simply the misdirected action you take following the identification of a stereotype.

  7. […] I have touched on spirituality, self acceptance, your worth in society, friends v. fuck buddies, breaking stereotypes and more. Like anyone I have my down times, and wonder what life’s really […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

