Views on pop culture through my eyes

Coming Out — It Matters

I came out of the closet a long time ago, I knew by my late teens that I was gay. It wouldn’t be until years later that my family knew about it. This has been an amazing year for gay rights. More and more individuals are coming out, we are getting some respect from the White House, and we can now serve in the military openly.

I saw a headline that read “So Anderson Cooper is Gay? Does it Matter?” Yes it does. Let me tell you why.

The more of us that come out, the more we have a voice. We are no longer the hidden minority. We are your sons, daughters, friends, coworkers, neighbors, and those driving in the car next to you.Coming Out Day

When I was dealing with coming to terms with myself, I didn’t know anyone who was gay. I didn’t know anyone in school, or in my family. I don’t remember seeing anyone on TV (except for those who seemed to be very troubled). I felt so alone. You were primed to think you were going to lead a lonely, miserable life as a gay person.

Those were the media views, then you had religion to deal with also. As a Catholic, you were supposed to abstain from sex until you were married (to a person of the opposite sex). Gays were “welcomed” to the church, but we are told to be celibate and abstain from having sex. Not to mention the guilt factor. I prayed and prayed that God would change me. I didn’t want to be this way.

A young person can not say that they haven’t heard of someone who is gay…. We have gay actors, athletes, singers, politicians, and more. These are real people, not stereotypes. People that are leading happy lives — whether they are single or in a relationship, some with kids even. Being gay has not stopped them from having a good life, it is just a part of who they are.

I am thankful I came out, and grateful to have the life that I have. I know my life did get better… so come on out, and tell the world about the real you. You’ll be glad you did.

Spice69man is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including Hiking in the Spirit and Real Kilt Men Wear Speedos. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

 

Comments on: "Coming Out — It Matters" (2)

  1. Marcelo Castilho Rogedo said:

    When I came out, I was 25. Actually, I knew that many members of my family, deep inside their hearts…they knew about my sexuality. A man, in my age, that never brought a girlfriend to introduce the family….most of my friends were men. I had to fight a lot to conquer my own world. My father didnt accept me, but I remember telling him “Father, you will not give me a magic pill and turn myself in a straight life. I am gay and I always felt like it. When I was 25, the Brazilian society was still narrow minded. I am not telling here that we still must fight against prejudice. But that I think for a person that comes out nowadays, it is better than 10 years ago. Sometimes I see teenagers kissing each other while they walk on the street. I only fear the homophobia, that still exists all over the world. Gays and lesbians are killed and we know most of times, groups of people act againt them. I had a bad moment once….3 guys beating on me. Coming out is not easy. We need to be sure of what we are doing. And of course, each family has its particular story. There are still families that fathers expells their own children from home, when they tell them, they’re gays. Basically, I have to say that my life is better now. I wouldnt feel myfelf comfortable, pretending a marriage or relationship with a woman, because of the pressure of the society. And I’m glad that my family loves me.

  2. […] about time, America! I touched on bullying, the election, supportive celebrities, the Boy Scouts, coming out and more as far as gay-related topics. I am sure with the decision on accepting gay Scouts, plus […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

