Views on pop culture through my eyes

Loving Me for Me

Do you look in the mirror and love what you see? This weeks column is about self esteem and body image.

When I was a teenager, I wanted to be buffer and not have acne. I was always slim, I can thank genetics for that. I was one of those people who could pretty much eat what they wanted and get away with it. I can’t do that now in my 40’s. Not so much concerned about weight issues, just about having energy and not feeling depressed cause I ate too much sugar. I remember having a Cinnabun about 6 years ago and getting horribly depressed afterwards. I will never eat one again in my life.

OK, so I can build muscle, but it is still an uphill struggle. I go to the gym and lift weights 2 times a week. Plus I do hikes on the regular too. I look fit though not a gym rat. I can take my shirt off and feel comfortable.

I have had issues with self esteem and my looks: I felt I was a nerd, too much acne, too skinny, glasses, not sexy enough, plain, average looking. Even if I was OK with my looks, I had issues with ME: I wasn’t funny enough, I was shy, I was boring, nobody wanted to talk to me, I was a wallflower, I was afraid I would stumble over words., I wasn’t one of the cool kids.

I am sure everyone can relate to these feelings. Everyone wants to belong and feel they are important.

Now that I am in my 40’s approaching my 50’s, I have made peace with my past, and have come to love me for me. God made every one of us unique. There will never be anyone just like me, I am an original. Learn to celebrate your individuality and what makes you YOU. When I stopped caring about what others wanted me to be (my peers, my family), and just followed my heart and my instincts, is when I really started to blossom. Love yourself — and others will notice it too.

Spice69man is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including the Real Men Wear Speedos line. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Comments on: "Loving Me for Me" (2)

  1. Marcelo said:

    Hello Daniel…Well, I am under pressure since now I am about 15 kg (33 lbs) over. I know that I MUST take care of myself. My mother does comments, but I know that from the deep of her heart she is trying to make me have a better look. I think that I must weigh about 75kg (165 lbs.) and I am almost 90 (198 lbs). I care about it, I take a look at the future and I know that aging makes it harder to get in shape. I must be careful…

  2. […] Serious Stuff Life is not all fun and games. I have touched on spirituality, self acceptance, your worth in society, friends v. fuck buddies, breaking stereotypes and more. Like anyone I have […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

