Views on pop culture through my eyes

An Authentic Life

 

What does it mean to life an authentic life? According to Dictionary.com the definition of authentic is:

1. not false or copied; genuine; real: an authentic antique.

2. having the origin supported by unquestionable evidence; authenticated; verified: an authentic document of the Middle Ages; an authentic work of the old master.

3. entitled to acceptance or belief because of agreement with known facts or experience; reliable; trustworthy: an authentic report on poverty in Africa.

So when we are talking about authentic life, it would be a life that is real, genuine, reliable, trustworthy. My life in my 40’s is the closest that I have come to living an authentic life. What you see it what you get. I am what I am. I offer no apologies for who I am or who I love. And why should I? I did that for years and was not happy with my life.

I am real. I am not a stereotype or a clone. I have thoughts and feelings that are unique to me. I don’t live in a fantasy world or somewhere far away. I am your neighbor, your friend, and possibly your family. I work, I play, I love.

I am genuine person. I am free from pretense, affectation, or hypocrisy. I am sincere. If you ask me how I am, I will tell you the truth. For a long time I had a problem with meeting someone new and having them say “Nice to meet you.” How would they know, when you are just meeting for the first time? But I realize now, it is just being courteous.

I am reliable. You ask me to do something, and I say “Yes” — know that I will pull through. I tend to be punctual with all appointments and obligations — work and social. It is something I was raised to be. Often I don’t have to be asked to do things. I know what needs to be done, and I do it.

I am trustworthy. People know that they can talk to me about anything. And that I won’t gossip about it to friends or colleagues. Relationships are important to me. I am also trusting. I have been hurt on this one, but it is better to know the truth than have people be fake with you.

So for me, being a gay man in his 40’s in a relationship is my reality. I love my man, my friends, my family and my life. I appreciate every minute of it. And am eternally grateful for all that God has given to me. I urge you to live an authentic life too.

Spice69man is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including the Real Men Wear Kilts line. They make great gifts for friends, family and loved ones.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

