Views on pop culture through my eyes

Real men still wear Speedos. Little did I know that this would become my most famous and successful posting to date. This latest entry will examine men in the music/entertainment business. We’ll talk about famous guys in Speedos as well as some views on masculinity too.

After cruising around the web the other day, I stumbled upon a new music video by the group LMFAO called “Sexy and You Know It.” The description said that members of the group were shakin’ it in Speedos at Venice Beach. I watched it, and thought it was a very fun video. It is about time that we get to see men shake it in music videos. LMFAO is a relatively new group made up of 2 guys — Redfoo and SkyBlu, both related to industry maven Berry Gordy (son and grandson). They had a big hit this past summer with “Party Rock Anthem.” Redfoo is the lead singer on the latest video, while SkyBlu is seen sporting a cardboard box TV head. I give the guys props for donning Speedos. They seem secure in their sexuality (I assume they are straight) and are having some fun. They don’t seem to care what other people think. Dancing at the club in Speedos would be awesome I am sure. And there are liberal shots of them shaking their “junk.” Be sure to watch the video here.

Which got me to thinking? When have we seen this before in music videos? I thought of a few instances: George Michael in white Speedos in the video for  “Club Tropicana,” MC Hammer in a zebra bikini in “Pumps in a Bump,” Simon Le Bon in a  black bikini in “Rio”  and Justin Timberlake in the movie “The Love Guru” (never seen it).  The only gay one of the bunch is George Michael. So, so far we have 5 straight guys and only 1 gay one in Speedos in a music video/movie.

Now on to some thoughts on masculinity: I remember when the show “Newlyweds” was on. Nick Lachey was about to release his first solo album and he was concerned about looking too “beefcakey” in the music video. He should have gone for it. Look what shirtless/beefcake pics did for Justin Timberlake. He appeared in a series of sexy/erotic magazine shots in Europe (though widely seen in the US). He appeared on the cover of  “The Advocate” with a headline “Straight Men We Love.” He embraced his sexiness and sold it to his advantage, something I think Nick should have done. Now Justin is a highly respected solo artist while Nick is hosting a singing competition.

Recently the “Jersey Shore” gang went on a side trip to Riccioni. A beach town in Italy. There were a couple of mentions of Speedos, one by JWoww and one by Ronnie… but no luck with seeing them in Speedos. So for me, I have to give them a big thumbs down for not giving it a chance. They are masculine guys with nice bodies, it would have been nice to see.

I love what Adam Levine (Maroon 5) said about sexuality. He recently appeared as Out magazine’s cover boy. He’s straight, but thanks you for asking. (“If people didn’t think there was a small chance I was gay, then I wouldn’t be doing my job very well.”) I see he is playing up his sexiness with his shirt off in the video for “Moves Like Jagger.” Here’s hoping we get to see him shake it in a Speedo some day. Enjoy the photo he did with his girlfriend this year for a magazine spread.

I hope LMFAO inspires more guys to try Speedos. You don’t have to be ripped to wear one. But you do need a sense of adventure and a sense of fun. I would love it if the video inspired a bunch of remakes (like Beyonce’s Single Ladies video did) with regular people shaking it.

Spice69man is a Los Angeles-based writer and designer. Be sure to check out the latest T-Shirts for sale here, including the Real Men Wear Speedos line. They make great gifts for the holidays.

Comments on: "Speedos, Masculinity and Music" (2)

  1. An fascinating dialogue is worth comment. I think that you need to write more on this subject, it might not be a taboo subject but usually persons are not sufficient to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  2. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a
    bit, but other than that, this is fantastic blog. A great read.
    I’ll definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

