Views on pop culture through my eyes

Dressing Up for Halloween

It’s that time of year again! Do you have your costume figured out for Halloween? Halloween used to be for kids. Now it is for everyone, including adults. Of the last 3 jobs that I have had, they have had costume contests at 2 of them. And the third one would have too, if there were more than 2 of us in the office! In my area, there are at least 3 Halloween shops within 5 miles of me. Plus a haunted maze too.

As a kid, I remember a few of my costumes: cowboy, pirate, Luke Skywalker. I remember putting up the Halloween decorations in the window of my parents house. I remember carving up pumpkins too (now we know better to use them for recipes like pumpkin bread and pumpkin soup). I remember one time that my parents let me dress in drag for some youth party. I bet they probably analyzed that one like crazy when they found out I was gay.

I am a creative person… so making my costumes has not been much of an issue. No, I don’t know how to sew… but you would be amazed at how much you can get done with some glue, wire, and safety pins. I have been to hardware stores, fabric stores, craft stores, vintage clothing places and Halloween stores to get all the items I will need to craft my Halloween masterpiece.

So in no particular order, my favorite and most popular Halloween costume creations:

  • Golden Angels. My partner and I created this for Halloween 2001. We got wire from the hardware store, some gold fabric and battery powered light sets from Michaels. The wire was used to create frames for our wings. We covered them with gold fabric and put the lights inside of them. We carried the wings on straps over our shoulders. We wore gold loinclothes, golden trumpets hanging around our necks, golden headbands and gold body spray. Pretty good for homemade! We had a ton of pics taken of us including with some police officers that liked our costumes.Golden Angels
  • RAD Force. Futuristic military personnel. RAD stands for Rasheed and Dan. We had black and white camo pants, boots, goggles, machine guns, camo bandanas, headsets and headlights too. On our torsos, we decided to go with liquid latex. This is stuff we bought from an adult store. It looks like poster paint, and dries on you like shiny rubber. The problem with it is that you need to shave any and all body hair. And I am sort of hairy! We did the whole look twice: once for a party, and once for the Halloween Carnival. It looked cool… but I would never do this again. It was a major pain to take off, and I hated how my body looked shaved.
  • Cone Zone Caltrans Workers. In California, the highway workers in the orange vests are employed by Caltrans. They had an ad campaign called “Slow for the Cone Zone.” This was telling motorists, if they see orange cones they need to slow down. So we took this idea, and put a West Hollywood twist on it. So we had yellow construction hats, orange vests, and then over our crotches we had traffic cones. Plus we carried signs that said “Slow for the Cone Zone.” It was a fun costume.

Some I admired that I have seen out in West Hollywood:

  • Wicked Witch from “The Wizard of Oz.” Not sure if it was a guy or girl that did this costume… but they sure looked like the real thing, excellent makeup and costume, plus they created an entire diorama inside a large glass ball showing Dorothy, Tin Man, Scarecrow and the Lion walking down the yellow brick road. These were 10” dolls, posed and everything… it looked like it took a lot of effort and skill to get it right. I admire the person’s attention to detail.
  • Sci-Fi Futuristic Warrior. One year it rained in West Hollywood. We ran into this guy dressed as some sort of futuristic warrior. His face was all made up, plus he was carrying a giant staff of some kind. But the cool thing was… he was naked! His whole body was painted including his penis… if you saw him far away, you probably wouldn’t notice, but up close, you were like REALLY? It took balls to do that in LA… Hopefully the cops left him alone that night. Back when we threw Halloween parties, we would tell people they had to come in costume or come naked… this guy had it both ways.

So raid your closet and thrift store, and come up with something interesting to wear to your favorite Halloween party or event. Enjoy being someone else for the night! Let me know what you came up with.

Comments on: "Dressing Up for Halloween" (4)

  1. Hi ya, I’m really glad I’ve found this information. Today’s bloggers publish just about gossips and internet and this is really irritating. A good site with interesting content, this is what I need. Thank you for keeping this web site, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? I can’t find it.

  2. No, I haven’t started doing a newsletter yet. Maybe on down the line…

  3. Hello. Excellent job. This is a fantastic story. Thanks!

  4. This design is wicked! You most certainly know how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

