Views on pop culture through my eyes

Real Men Wear Kilts

Here’s the one my friends have been waiting to hear from me. I love wearing kilts. It all started about 7 years ago. I had seen Utilikilts at various festivalsDan in Digital Camo Kilt and always liked them. One day I finally I got up the money and the nerve to order one. And I have been a fan ever since. I started off with one and now I have four. I would love to actually have a nice traditional kilt to wear for formal events.

I actually have Scottish blood on my Mom’s side of the family. She has this great photo of my great, great uncle in full battle kilt. So I am carrying on a family tradition I guess you could say.

I am someone who is comfortable in my own skin. But it took some years to get to that point. I always used to think of myself as someone who didn’t fit in, when I so desperately wanted to. As I got older I realized the more I let myself be me, the happier I was.

I was a shy, artsy, fun, sensitive, and Catholic gay guy in a long-term relationship with another man. I loved boy bands, stuffed animals, and female vocalists. For years, I tried pleasing everyone BUT me: my parents, society, total strangers. I finally gave up trying to fit someone else’s model of what a man should be. Who said that we had to wear pants? Utilikilts slogan is “We sell freedom.” I agree. They gave me the freedom to be me.

I feel strong, sexy and confident in my kilt. I tend to wear my Utilikilt everywhere: the mall, the movies, concerts, church, parties, grocery store, and on and on. I love to hike and can often be seen hiking on trails around the LA area in my kilt. I wear kilts often enough that when I don’t wear it, people ask “Where’s the kilt?”

I applaud all the straight guys who are wearing Utilikits these days… it has nothing to do with sexuality and everything to do with comfort and individuality. Who wouldn’t want some air conditioning down below? And guys look pretty hot in them too.

I hope that I am a positive role model for those that didn’t fit the norm. As I said in a previous post, I live my life “Out and Proud.” Be yourself, be comfortable, and frankly don’t care what other people say. Life is too short not to have fun. You might as well look good and feel good as you go through this crazy world.

I will close with a few interesting encounters I’ve had in my kilt:

  • A guy asked me if I was in the industry, meaning the movie industry? I told him no, but he said that Utilikilts are very popular behind the scenes on set.
  • I got approached at a Go-Go’s concert about it and of course got asked what I was wearing under it? And I just smiled and told her nothing. She was like, really? Yeah… she didn’t check for sure though.
  • Another time, a guy at Quizno’s asked what I was wearing and I told him and he was like… so you’re like Sean Connery then? Like James Bond?
  • And lastly, I was on a hike in Hollywood and a little boy commented on my camo kilt and thought it was cool. He said that he had a kilt at home. Pretty progressive parents, I applaud them.

Besides Utilikilts, there are Amerikilts and Sport Kilts as far as US Manufacturers. But I can’t speak for those other guys, as I have never worn their kilts.

Real men do wear kilts. And it’s about time more men do it.

Comments on: "Real Men Wear Kilts" (5)

  1. Had a great comment at church today on my kilt…
    I love it… You know who you are!

  2. […] this past weekend in Long Beach, CA at the Queen Mary. I have long been a big supporter of kilts (Real Men Do Wear Kilts), so why not explore my culture with a few friends in tow? I am actually Scottish on my mother’s […]

  3. […] Real Men Wear Kilts — My second favorite topic. I love the fact that one of my friends asked  “Do you own any pants?” Yes, I do, but if I had my way, I wouldn’t wear them again. Kilts are much more comfortable, I feel like ME, and know that I rock them. […]

  4. I love the kilt. And yes I do wear it. Have a nice day

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

